Advent, Children and Anderson Cooper 360

I couldn’t sleep last night, which is always an invitation for random thoughts, and they came in a hurry last night.  This is sort of how they went, complete with the chaos and then the sense.

It’s Advent, the time that we remember the arrival of a child and look forward to His returning as our King.

I watched news one night last week.  I watched Anderson Cooper.  It seemed that every story was about a child.

My six-year-old suddenly likes digging holes in the yard.  I will have to fill them in one day.  She’s made one of them big.  It’s kind of a nuisance.

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God and the Word was God.  And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us.

Every piece of news on Anderson Cooper that night was about children.  It was depressing.  I wish that I hadn’t watched.

I could dig bigger holes than my six-year-old when I was a kid.  I could make them muddier, too.  Of course, I had Georgia red clay to work with.  She just has Florida sand with a little brown dirt mixed in.  I guess my holes were a nuisance, too.

God became flesh and slept in a feeding trough.  I remember a song that spoke about there being a shadow of a cross over Baby Jesus.  I know it wasn’t in the Bible.  Still, figuratively, it was there.  It was why He came.

Unbelievable.  Someone killed a child and put her in a trash compactor.  This is depressing.

I’m glad that I played outside with my daughter today even if she did dig that one hole deeper and start another one.  I forgot about that one closer to the tree.  It’s a nuisance, but it is innocent.  I can fill them in.

Jesus said to let the little children come to Him.  The kingdom of heaven belongs to people such as them.

There are more accusations against that football coach and that basketball coach, too. They were children who trusted them.  They were innocent.

I have to guard my child’s innocence.  I’m glad that I was with her today.

He’s coming back as King, to set it all straight.  There is so much wrong when children are robbed or denied childhood innocence.

It was ridiculous.  Toddlers and Tiaras.  A child screamed while having her eyebrows plucked.  A mother tells her daughter to be fierce because that’s what she learned about stage presence from watching drag shows with her husband.  What?  Someone actually dressed their child, a four-year old, like a prostitute and paraded her across a stage.  This is on The Learning Channel.  What happened to shows about hanging sheet rock?  These people need help.  People who watch that need help.  What about a child’s innocence?  What’s wrong with being just a child?  It was ridiculous, but in light of the rest of the news, it didn’t seem funny.

Digging holes and getting dirty is what childhood should be.  What’s wrong with this world?  He’s coming to set it all straight.

“The Spirit and the bride say, ‘Come.’ And let the one who hears say, ‘Come.'”

In the meantime, take care of the children.

Leave a Reply

